UNC-Charlotte's Tamara Johnson Honored as 'Emerging Leader'

UNC-Charlotte's Tamara Johnson Honored as 'Emerging Leader'

Tamara Johnson is the 2018 Civic Engagement Professional of the Year – Emerging Leader Award recipient, as presented by North Carolina Campus Compact.

This award recognizes a higher education administrator in the state who works to realize a campus-wide vision of service, supports the engagement of faculty and students and forms innovative campus-community partnerships. The “emerging leader” distinction is for an honoree who has been at the campus for five years or less.

Campus Civic Action Plans from Schools in Bonner Network

In recognition of Campus Compact‘s 30th anniversary in 2015-16, the National Campus Compact's Board of Directors asked member presidents and chancellors to join in signing an Action Statement, a declaration of shared commitment to the public purposes of higher education and a promise to develop a Campus Civic Action Plan to realize those purposes more fully.

So far, nine schools in the Bonner Network have completed their Civic Action Plans:

  1. College of St. Benedict and St. John's University
  2. Davidson College
  3. Edgewood College
  4. Rolllins College
  5. Stockton University
  6. University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  7. Wagner College
  8. Warren Wilson College
  9. Widener University